Apr. 19, 2002 - 9:44 pm

cover
Chocolat (2000)

well I finally got around to renting Lasse Hallstrom's Chocolat which got a lot of critical acclaim when it came out a couple of years ago. even a best picture nomination. after seeing The English Patient (1996) the other day for the second time, I realized that Juliette Binoche is simply exquisite. so I decided to see Chocolat.

of course 20 minutes into the film i reached for my easter candy. i felt like Jerry Seinfeld was laughing at me. "You're watching Chocolat, I mean ya gotta have the chocolate-c'mon!"

anyway, it was a very sweet film. i got all teary-eyed at parts. mostly at the scenes between the mother and daughter. the mother-daughter relationship can be so beautiful sometimes.

i love these little magical movies that are coming out with strong female protagonists like Chocolat; another of course that comes instantly to mind is Le Fabuleux destin d'Am�lie Poulain (2001). See it if you haven't.

it's an excellent script, but a little too much of a morality tale for me. reminiscent of Gene Roddenberry's work on the original Star Trek television series. you're doing well if you're following me on that analogy. so, Chocolat I give an 8/10. mainly because of the acting.