May. 23, 2002 - 1:07 am

cover
Rear Window (1954)

obviously, this movie's on my top 10 list of movies from the AFI list. it's number 42 on the list itself, as well as number 14 on the IMDb top 100. why didn't it win Best Picture you ask? well that was the year for Elia Kazan's On The Waterfront (1954). and yes, i've seen that quite a few times. well i finally got a chance to watch my new restored copy that i ordered from Amazon. it just felt like a Rear Window night.

this is my favorite Hitchcock film. my favorite Grace Kelly film for that matter. she's one of my favorite actresses. if you have not see this film, you just have to. it's shot nearly entirely from a single apartment and has great performances from every actor. the plot is exquisite. it's one of those rare films that i would call perfect. and it gets a 10/10 for it. that makes numero 2 for this diary. but this was not a new discovery for me. i can't tell you how many times i've seen this one. hey, at least Grace Kelly won Best Actress for 1954. she won for The Country Girl (1954) though. oh my god Grace Kelly.

other trivia you should know about this film. -this is one of the 5 "lost Hitchcocks." between the time of its release and 1984 you couldn't get a copy of this film. amazing. -all of the sound in this film is diegetic meaning it comes from the story space and not a soundtrack.

another film that i've recently gotten a copy of thanks to my friend Leslie is Rope (1948). it's another of the 5 "lost Hitchcocks." i'm thinking i might be in the mood to watch that one soon too. we'll see.